top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJacob Van Zyl

HELP WITH CORONAVIRUS FROM A CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVE

“ME AND TREE” BLOG

by Dr. Jacob D van Zyl tel 013 752 2000

Practice@37A Ehmkestreet, Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, SA


BLOG (31/5) posted on 2020/04/06 – look out for the next update of this blog in about a month’s time

WHY THE CORONAVIRUS IS A TRIGGER FOR MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES AND WHAT YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT FROM A PSYCHOLOGICAL AND SPIRITUAL PERSPECTIVE

In my previous blog (blog 30/4) regarding two trees standing and growing together as one in marriage, I emphasized the importance of communication. I provided the ten important communication guidelines in marriage. In the mean time our world and lives were were hit by the Coronavirus. I therefore decided to interrupt the series of blogs regarding the marriage, and to shift the focus towards perspecitives regarding our human psyche and the coronavirus. In this blog (31/5), I will create awareness regarding why the Coronavirus is triggering mental health issues.


Recently I stood in a queue with my daughter – each of us had to stand a meter away from each other on a marked line – in front of a super mark. Across the row of people I could see my brother standing. I could only wave at him across the row with my mask on. For a moment it felt as if I was living in a different reality or era, in a totally changed environment I am used to. I realized that the presence of the Coronavirus in our world has the potential to form new psychological awareness, knowledge, theories and approaches related to our experience of life itself; behavior; emotions; interaction; physical and personal boundaries; as well as our awareness of death. There is suddenly so much more to become aware of in terms of mental illness and how to treat it during this time…


According to “The Depression Project” the following aspects are the reasons why the Coronavirus is triggering mental health issues – issues I will reflect on in the blogs to come:

- Despair

- Mindset switch from “living” to “survival”

- Triggers feelings of hopelessness

- Increased health anxiety

- Decreased job security

- Fear for loved ones lives

- Promotes social withdrawal

- Decreased financial security

- Loneliness

Isolation and social distancing indeed makes it more difficult to distract oneself from existing mental health issues, for instance your depression, anxiety, previous trauma and or loss, marriage or family problem, self-esteem issues or unresolved inner conflicts regarding the past and future...

Corona virus is not just threatening our physical health, but our mental health too. Look after it.

In our next blog, I will focus on one of the above mentioned themes regarding the Coronavirus and mental health issues.

Feel free to send your questions regarding this topic to vanzyljd@telkomsa.net or contact my rooms at 013 752 2000 to make an appointment.

89 views0 comments
bottom of page